Annual Awards and GRANTS

Nov 2021 SECO Awards

The Nov 2021 Annual SECO Awards and Grant applications are now available. Nominate or self-apply by September 30 2021.

Help SECO recognize and celebrate in-service educators, pre-service teachers, and administrators, who are doing outstanding work in science education. Applications to apply can be found by clicking the title for each grant/award description.

SECO Member Teaching Grants

The Nov 2021 SECO Member Teaching Grants are designed to provide support for SECO members in the teaching of science. These are available to pre-K through grade 12 teachers to help in the development and implementation of an activity or project. Grant recipients are expected to present to SECO members either virtually or in person at a conference. Awardees must be a SECO member.   Grant are up to $500.00 each.

The Patricia E. Blosser Service Award

This award honors both SECO members and nonmembers who have committed time above and beyond the ordinary to the organization. An individual may receive this award only one time, and it is not given to someone presently holding an elected position in SECO.

Patrica E. Blosser served as a pre-service educator at The Ohio State University over a period of many years. She was also co-director of the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) on science education at The Ohio State University. She was a constant and devoted science educator within Ohio who dedicated her life-long work to this endeavor.

The William H. Arnold Award

William H. Arnold was one of the founding members of the Science Education Council of Ohio (SECO). He served as the SECO President in 1981. “Bill’s” dedication to science education within Ohio after retirement resulted in the organization developing an award for retirees who also provide support and service to the organization.

The award is given to an individual who has been active in SECO and continues to be active after retirement of full-time employment in science education.

The Diana M. Hunn Service Award

Diana M. Hunn, Ph.D. was an integral member of the Science Education Council of Ohio. She served the organization as a board member, executive board member, executive director, and executive director emeritus. Dr. Hunn was a constant and undying supporter of middle school science and pre-service educators.

The Nov 2021 Diana M. Hunn Award honors Dr. Hunn by supporting pre-service science educators with a mini grant of self-selected books and/or resources up to $500. 

An individual may receive this award only one time.

To be considered for this award, applicants must become a member of SECO. Please go to the following link to become a member. It is a free membership for a pre-service teacher.

Friend of Science Award

The Nov 2021 Friend of Science Award is given to a science educator or non-educator who has positively influenced science education in the State of Ohio and/or nation though a specific project or sustained activities. This award recognizes activities that are more related to servicing the science education community than to specific teaching activities. Service to the science education community includes the effective creation of situations that promote active learning and encourage a love of science.

Administrator Award for Leadership in Science Education

The Nov 2021 Administrator Award is given to a current Elementary, Middle Level, or High School administrator who has demonstrated leadership in the development, implementation, and maintenance of an outstanding school science program; supported staff development in science; promoted positive relationships between the school's science program and the community; and has been an advocate and leader for the development of science process skills and positive attitudes toward science among students, parents, and teachers.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software