Annual Awards and REcognition

Each year, the Science Education Council of Ohio proudly honors the best of the Buckeye State, through a series of competitive educational awards. We welcome nominations from all parts of the state. Below are the 2018 SECO Award winners. Nominations for 2019 will open in the Fall.

Char Shryock,
Bay Village City Schools

Administrator Award for Leadership in Science Education

The Administrator Award is given to a current Elementary, Middle Level, or High School administrator who has demonstrated leadership in the development, implementation, and maintenance of an outstanding school science program; supported staff development in science; promoted positive relationships between the school's science program and the community; and has been an advocate and leader for the development of science process skills and positive attitudes toward science among students, parents, and teachers. 

Dennis Clement
Ohio EPA

Friend of Science Award

The Friend of Science Award is given to a science educator or non-educator who has positively influenced science education in the State of Ohio and/or nation though a specific project or sustained activities. This award recognizes activities that are more related to servicing the science education community than to specific teaching activities.

Service to the science education community includes the effective creation of situations that promote active learning and  encourage a love of science.

Cathy Holmes
Ohio Department of Education

The Patricia E. Blosser Service Award

Patrica E. Blosser served as a pre-service educator at The Ohio State University over a period of many years.  She was also co-director of the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) on science education at The Ohio State University.  She was a constant and devoted science educator within Ohio who dedicated her life-long work to this endeavor.   

This award honors both SECO members and nonmembers who have committed time above and beyond the ordinary to the organization. An individual may receive this award only one time, and it is not given to someone presently holding an elected position in SECO.

Joshua Boyle
Mahoning County Career Technical Center

Membership Teaching Grant

The SECO Membership Teaching Grant is designed to provide a classroom teacher of science support in the teaching of science. It is available to a pre-K through grade 12 teacher to help in the development and implementation of an activity or project under the assumption they will be willing to present at a SECO Science Symposium within 2 years of receiving the grant. A SECO Membership Teaching Grant requires membership in the Science Education Council of Ohio. One grant is awarded up to $500 each year.

Olivia Barnett
Kent State University

The Diana M. Hunn Service Award

Diana M. Hunn, Ph.D. was an integral member of the Science Education Council of Ohio. She served the organization as a board member, executive board member, executive director, and executive director emeritus. Dr. Hunn was a constant and undying supporter of middle school science and pre-service educators.

The Diana M. Hunn Award honors Dr. Hunn by supporting a pre-service science educator to attend the SECO Science Symposium. One award is given each year. The award will provide registration for the SECO Science Symposium, one night lodging (up to $250), and travel expenses in the amount of $0.35 per mile.

K-2 Vicki Willett
Licking Heights West

SECO Science Symposium Scholarship Awards

The SECO Science Symposium Scholarship Awards are designed to provide support to classroom science teachers by providing them the opportunity to attend the SECO Science Symposium. Scholarships will include symposium registration, one night lodging, and mileage ($0.35 per mile). Scholarships do require membership in the Science Education Council of Ohio. One scholarship will be awarded in each of the following categories: K- Grade 2 teacher; Grade 3-5 teacher; Grade 6-8 teacher; and Grade 9-12 teacher.

3-5 Jordan Ankerman
Licking Heights Local Schools

6-8 Wendy Bennett
Windham Exempted Village Schools

9-12 Eliot Pennell
Windham Exempted Village Schools

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software