Annual Awards and REcognition

Each year, the Science Education Council of Ohio proudly honors the best of the Buckeye State, through a series of competitive educational awards. Thank for all the incredible submissions. Award winners will be announced during the SECO Science Symposium January 28-28, 2019 at Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center.

Administrator Award for Leadership in Science Education

The Administrator Award is given to a current Elementary, Middle Level, or High School administrator who has demonstrated leadership in the development, implementation, and maintenance of an outstanding school science program; supported staff development in science; promoted positive relationships between the school's science program and the community; and has been an advocate and leader for the development of science process skills and positive attitudes toward science among students, parents, and teachers. 

Friend of Science Award

The Friend of Science Award is given to a science educator or non-educator who has positively influenced science education in the State of Ohio and/or nation though a specific project or sustained activities. This award recognizes activities that are more related to servicing the science education community than to specific teaching activities.

Service to the science education community includes the effective creation of situations that promote active learning and  encourage a love of science.

The Patricia E. Blosser Service Award

Patrica E. Blosser served as a pre-service educator at The Ohio State University over a period of many years.  She was also co-director of the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) on science education at The Ohio State University.  She was a constant and devoted science educator within Ohio who dedicated her life-long work to this endeavor.   

This award honors both SECO members and nonmembers who have committed time above and beyond the ordinary to the organization. An individual may receive this award only one time, and it is not given to someone presently holding an elected position in SECO.

SECO Membership Teaching Grant

The SECO Membership Teaching Grant is designed to provide a classroom teacher of science support in the teaching of science. It is available to a pre-K through grade 12 teacher to help in the development and implementation of an activity or project under the assumption they will be willing to present at a SECO Science Symposium within 2 years of receiving the grant. A SECO Membership Teaching Grant requires membership in the Science Education Council of Ohio. One grant is awarded up to $500 each year.

The William H. Arnold Award

William H. Arnold was one of the founding members of the Science Education Council of Ohio (SECO). He served as the SECO President in 1981. “Bill’s” dedication to science education within Ohio after retirement resulted in the organization developing an award for retirees who also provide support and service to the organization. 

The award is given to an individual who has been active in SECO and continues to be active after retirement of full-time employment in science education. 

The Diana M. Hunn Service Award

Diana M. Hunn, Ph.D. was an integral member of the Science Education Council of Ohio. She served the organization as a board member, executive board member, executive director, and executive director emeritus. Dr. Hunn was a constant and undying supporter of middle school science and pre-service educators.

The Diana M. Hunn Award honors Dr. Hunn by supporting a pre-service science educator to attend the SECO Science Symposium. One award is given each year. The award will provide registration for the SECO Science Symposium, one night lodging (up to $250), and travel expenses in the amount of $0.35 per mile.

SECO Science Symposium Scholarship Awards

The SECO Science Symposium Scholarship Awards are designed to provide support to classroom science teachers by providing them the opportunity to attend the SECO Science Symposium. Scholarships will include symposium registration, one night lodging, and mileage ($0.35 per mile). Scholarships do require membership in the Science Education Council of Ohio. One scholarship will be awarded in each of the following categories: K- Grade 2 teacher; Grade 3-5 teacher; Grade 6-8 teacher; and Grade 9-12 teacher.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software