Light leads 2016 winners

Matt Light's Light Foundation has been instrumental in the financial and inspirational support for the Darke County's LIGHT Project; an initiative to introduce 1st graders to quality non-fiction/fiction science trade books and activities to get them and their families outside. For Matt's commitment to education, he is the winner of the 2016 SECO Administrator Award for Leadership in Science Education.

Light, a native of Greenville, Ohio, and his foundation are committed to encouraging students to think about the science, math and literacy that keep our surrounding natural habitats healthy while inspiring true student learning in an outdoor "classroom."

Friend of Science Award

2016 Recipient - Timothy Whitestone

Mr. Whitestone demonstrates the kind of leadership and imagination that one would desire every high school administrator to possess.  He is able to tackle situations in a positive and professional manner.  He supports his staff utilizing research-based teaching strategies including cooperative learning, student discovery, integrated technology, scientific inquiry and experiential hands-on-learning. 

Mr. Whitestone fosters an atmosphere of trust and respect, supporting the science department to strive towards excellence.  Mr. Whitestone encourages the addition of new science elective courses, purchases necessary science lab supplies, and encourages the science department to attend professional development. 

Membership Teaching Grant
2016 Recipient
- Stephanie Nowak

Stephanie to use the funds to provide resources to learn about rocks and soil in my classroom, and also to buy materials needed for a Classifying living things unit.  Last year her classes trained goldfish, She plans to continue to provide these opportunities to her students, and attend conferences to learn more STEM lessons. 

The William H. Arnold Award
2016 Recipient
- Kay Wagner

Kay works tirelessly to keep SECO up and running. Her SECO knowledge depth and professionalism are key in making this organization run smoothly so that we can continue to make SECO the place for Ohio science teachers to turn to when looking for updated state science information and best practices. 

The Diana M. Hunn Service Award
2016 Recipient
- Audrey Nguyen

As a Teaching Associate in the Department of Engineering Education since 2011, Audrey has demonstrated a strong work ethic and commitment to education. Audrey undertakes special projects such as the curriculum development of graphics and piloting new exam software to improve educational research.  Her desire to teach and to develop her skills is also demonstrated as she takes on other opportunities such as teaching a MCAT preparation course and tutoring multiple undergraduate students.

SECO Provides a Host of Annual Supporters Of Science Awards

Each year, The Science Education Council of Ohio proudly honors the best of the Buckeye State, through a series of educational awards. We welcome nominations from all parts of the State.

2017 SECO Awards were presented at The NSTA Conference on December 2, 2016. 

Administrator Award for Leadership in Science Education

These awards are given to current Elementary, Middle Level, and High School administrators who have demonstrated leadership in the development, implementation, and maintenance of an outstanding school science program; supported staff development in science; promoted positive relationships between the school's science program and the community; and have been advocates and leaders for the development of science process skills and positive attitudes toward science among students, parents, and teachers. 

Friend of Science Award

This award is given science educators or non-educators who have positively influenced science education in the state of Ohio and/or nation through a specific project or sustained activities. 

The Patricia E. Blosser Service Award

This award honors both SECO members and nonmembers who have devoted time above and beyond the ordinary to the organization. An individual may receive this award only one time, and it is not given to someone presently holding an elected position in SECO. 

Membership Teaching Grant

The SECO Membership Grant is designed to provide classroom teachers of science support in the teaching of science. It is available to pre-K-12 teachers under the assumption they will be willing to present at a SECO conference within 2 years of receiving the grant. SECO Membership Grants do require membership in the Science Education Council of Ohio. Grants are awarded up to $500. 

The William H. Arnold Award

This award is given to an individual who has been active in SECO and continues to be active after retirement from full-time employment in science education.

The Diana M. Hunn Service Award

The Diana M. Hunn award honors Dr. Hunn by supporting pre-service science educators to attend one (1) annual Ohio Science Institute. The award will provide:

  • Registration for the conference (including food provided with registration
  • One night lodging – up to $250 – for one night
  • Travel expenses in the amount of $0.35 per mile
  • An individual may receive this award only one time, and it is not given to someone presently holding an elected position in SECO.


Illustrations from WHEN I HEARD THE LEARN’D ASTRONOMER by Walt Whitman . Illustrations copyright © 2004 by Loren Long.  Used by permission of Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software